Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300

I’ve been on a pilgrimage. A journey to find myself.

Sunday 14/07/2019, 9:31 am. My iPhone wakes me up. Hit snooze. 8 minutes later, the same thing. Flight mode off. Bing bing bing (WhatsApp). Bi-bi-bi-bi-bi-bing (iMessage). Dong-Dong-Dong-Do-do-do-do-do-dong (Mail). Ding-Ding-Ding-Ding-Di-di-Ding (Messenger). My brain releases tons of cortisol.

I turn onto my side. My right hand goes to the iPhone. In natural focus mode (left eye closed) I try to have a quick wade through the jungle of notifications. Tennis is off. The weather’s awful. Never mind. Something else will come up. I turn over again. The iPhone rings. Really? Now? Sunday at 9:44 am? I feel my brain release another 2 tons of cortisol. I don’t know the number. In just a few seconds I decide to start walking the Granite Pilgrimage route a day early. I jump up. A quick cold shower. Rucksack packed. 5 things for 4 days. Heavy walking shoes. Light sports shoes. Long trousers. Short trousers. Swimming trunks. iPhone charger. Wait. No. I’m leaving it at home. Flight mode on. The start of a journey.

Granitpilgern Backshot

Urfahr.

I walk to Urfahr. Pop into the office to pick up the camera. Where does the bus leave from? And even more important - when? No idea. I go to Mühlkreis station. A conductor’s sitting there on a bench and gawping at his tablet. A loud deep voice is telling him something about politics.

“Excuse me ... what’s the best way to get to Sankt Martin?” “Sankt Martin? Don’t know a stop called Sankt Martin.” “Hmm ... OK. Not got my phone with me, I’m really stuck.”

— He closes his app on the tablet and opens the railway app —

“Let’s have a look ... Where do you want to go?”
“Sankt Martin” (he types ...)
“OK. Sankt Martin bei Traun?”
“No. Mühlkreis.”
“Ah. OK.”
“A bus leaves at 1:20 pm. The 321. From Hinsenkampplatz.”
“And where’s that? I’ve never heard of it ...”
“No idea. It’ll be somewhere round here.”
“OK. Thanks anyway. I’ll find it - bye!”
“Bye.”

Hinsenkampplatz is near the AEC. Goes without saying. Think. The iPhone normally does it for me. At 11:50 I was at Hinsenkampplatz. Another 1 hour 30 minutes to wait. Sit down. Wait. Think. Look. Right. Left. Straight ahead. A downpour. Rain. Rain. Rain. Wait. Look. Left. Right. Straight ahead. The bus comes. Get on.

The bus sets off.

It’s almost empty. 5 people. Including me. The monotonous sound of the bus makes me tired. I normally don't notice it. With ear buds in my ears. Suddenly a middle-aged woman sits on the next seat.

“Hey! Did you see that! The driver's on his phone”
“Yeah, he is. But he’s finished now hasn’t he?”
“So! Look! He’s on the phone again! I’m going to say a quick prayer so nothing happens...got to get off now anyway. Now he's not stopped because he ...now he’s checked. All the best ... hopefully nothing happens to you...”

Granite Pilgrimage.

Left. Right. Left. Right. Breathe in. Barbecues. Breathe out. Grasshoppers jumping. Thousands. I stop. No grasshoppers. I take a step. Hundreds. A small road. No cars. Sunshine. Clothes are drying out. Golden fields of straw. Dark green cornfields. A little old farmhouse. An old sheep farmer.

“Hello!”
“Hello!”
“Can I take a picture of your sheep?”
“Of course! I was waiting for you”
“Right. Thought so!”
“Look. Watch the birdie!
“Thanks a lot. Have a good day!”
“Goodbye”

Thoughts.

Thoughts come. Thoughts go. They pass by. Catch them. Think. Reflect. Let them go. About challenges. About the company. About friends. About family. About love. A downpour. Heavy. Wet. Sweat and rain. Mixing together. Drops flow. Down my legs. Into my heavy walking shoes. The path is steep. Slippery. Breathe in. Concentration. Breathe out. Carefree.

Granitpilgern Baeume

Mühltalhof.

Arrive. Dive in. Into the Mühl. Swimming in the cold water. Delicious food. Enjoy. Be. Let the soul unwind. Thoughts come. Thoughts go. Look at the river. Sauna. Relax. Look. Swim. And back to the beginning. Do what you want. A conversation with Philip. About his current plans. His boy band. His new project.

Office Neufelden.

Quick visit to the office. Neufelden. I like the office. I like all offices. All different yet all the same.

“Hey, what are you doing there?”
“Walking - the Granite Pilgrimage path.”
“Walking what? The full distance?”
“Yep, the whole 90km.”
“You’re joking. It would kill me. All on foot. Up and down ... that's what we have cars for ...“
— Conversation with Katl from Neufelden.

Granitpilgern Büro Neufelden 2
Granitpilgern Büro Neufelden 1

On the route.

“Hello!”
“Hello!”
“Are you doing the pilgrimage route?”
“Yes, exactly”
“Where have you come from ... where are you going?”
“Neufelden - Haslach”
“You've come a long way then”
“Yes, what else would I be doing...”
— Conversation with a 90-year young man.

1 beer. 2 schnapps. 3 Raffaello. 1 dream.

Third day, 10:33 am. No words.

“Are you alright?”
“Pardon?”
“Are you alright?”
“Oh. Of course! Do I look that tired?”
“Thought so. Just asking...”
— Conversation with a young driver. He has a Red Cross key ring.

Vieböck Leinen — Helfenberg.

Vieböck has been one of our customers for a long time. But also kind of a new one. New? That’s because the son is slowly growing into running the company. I’m a self-confessed Vieböck fan. Christoph is super friendly. The products are great. High quality. Sustainably produced. Manual quality checks. High-quality linen from France, Belgium and Holland. Woven in Italy. Really exciting production. The latest machine from 1989. Respond to changes. Go new ways. Away from those you’ve already travelled. Good luck, Christoph & Team.

Granitpilgern Viehböck

Backache.

My old complaint. Backache. Too much weight. Too long on my shoulders. I decide to walk the second half with just the real essentials. The Helfenberg local authority office will look after my rucksack in the meantime.

“Can I leave my rucksack with you?”
“What, why?”
“Too heavy. Backache. An old complaint.”
“Well. It doesn't look that heavy!”
“Try lifting it! It’s pretty heavy!”
“Right. Doesn’t look like it!”
“I’ll pick it up on Thursday if that’s OK!”
“That’s fine, see you then!”

On the second half, instead of a rucksack I had blisters on the soles of my feet. “It would kill me! All on foot.” — Katl said. I think about that a lot. For the last 45km. The route is beautiful. A carefree feeling sets in. I hear myself breathing. One foot in front of the other. Limping slightly. Until I can see Sankt Martin again.

Granitpilgern Binkerl

4 days. 10 communities. 90 kilometres. 1000 thoughts. 1 discovery.

I didn't miss anything in 4 days. Nothing on Instagram. Nothing on Facebook. Nothing on Slack. Nothing on ORF. No important calls. Nothing bad happened. The world’s still turning. Everything’s just as good or bad as it was 4 days ago. But there’s one thing I would have missed out on, if I hadn’t left my iPhone on the bedside table in flight mode: A journey to find myself.

Thanks.

Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

Ich war pilgern. Eine Reise zu mir selbst.

Sonntag, 14.7.2019, 09:31 Uhr. Das iPhone weckt mich. Schlummern „ein“. 8 Minuten später, erneut. Flugmodus „aus“. Bing-bing-bing (WhatsApp). Bi-bi-bi-bi-bi-bing (iMessage). Dong-Dong-Dong-Do-do-do-do-do-dong (Mail). Ding-Ding-Ding-Ding-Di-di-Ding (Messenger). Mein Hirn schüttelt Tonnen Cortisol aus.

Ich dreh mich zur Seite. Die rechte Hand zum iPhone. Mit dem natürlichen Fokus-Mode (linkes Auge zu) versuche ich einen Überblick im Notification-Jungle zu bekommen. Tennis ist abgesagt. Wetter scheiße. Auch gut. Wird sich schon was anderes ergeben. Ich dreh mich wieder um. iPhone läutet. Echt jetzt? Sonntag um 09:44 Uhr? Mein Hirn schüttet gefühlt nochmals 2 Tonnen Cortisol aus. Nummer kenn ich nicht. Ich beschließe binnen Sekunden bereits einen Tag früher mit dem Granitpilgern zu starten. Ich springe auf. Kurze kalte Dusche. Rucksack gepackt. 5 Sachen für 4 Tage. Schwere Wanderschuhe. Leichte Sportschuhe. Lange Hose. Kurze Hose. Badehose. Ladegerät für das iPhone. Warte. Nein. Das Ding bleibt daheim. Flugmodus „ein“. Der Beginn einer Reise.

Granitpilgern Backshot

Urfahr.

Ich gehe zu Fuß nach Urfahr. Noch kurz die Kamera in der Agentur abholen. Wo fährt jetzt der Bus weg? Und vor allem — wann? Keine Ahnung. Ich gehe zum Mühlkreisbahnhof. Dort sitzt ein Schaffner auf der Bank und glotzt in sein Tablet. Eine laute tiefe Stimme erzählt ihm etwas über Politik.

„Entschuldigung ... wie komm ich am besten noch Sankt Martin?“
„Sankt Martin? I kenn ka Haltestelle Sankt Martin.“
„Hmm ... Ok. Einmal kein Handy dabei, steh i glei an.“

— Er schließt seine App am Tablet und öffnet die ÖBB App —

„Na schau ma ... Wo wollens hin?“
„Nach Sankt Martin“ (er tippt ...)
„Ok. Sankt Martin bei Traun oder?
„Nein. Mühlkreis.“
„Ah. Ok.“
„Um 13:20 Uhr geht ein Bus. 321. Vom Hinsenkampplatz.“
„Und wo is der? Hab i noch nie ghört ...“
„Keine Ahnung. Wir scho irgendwo do sein.“
„Ok, danke jedenfalls. Werd i schon finden - wiederschaun!“
„Wiederschaun."

Der Hinsenkampplatz ist beim AEC. Logisch. Denken. Macht sonst das iPhone. Um 11:50 Uhr war ich am Hinsenkampplatz. Noch 1 Stunde 30 Minuten zu warten. Hinsitzen. Warten. Denken. Schauen. Rechts. Links. Geradeaus. Wolkenbruch. Regen. Regen. Regen. Warten. Schauen. Links. Rechts. Geradeaus. Bus kommt. Einsteigen.

Die Busfahrt.

Der Bus ist fast leer. 5 Personen. Mit mir. Das monotone Geräusch des Busses macht mich müde. Fällt sonst ja nicht auf. Mit Earpods in den Ohren. Auf einmal setzt sich eine Frau mittleren Alters auf die Nebenbank.

„Ma! Haums des gseng! Da Buschauffeur telefoniert mit dem Handy!!!“
„Ja, stimmt. Hat aber grod wieder aufghört oda?“
„Na! Schauns! Der telefoniert scho wieder! I schick schnö a Stoßgebet ab damit jo nix passiert ... muss oba jetzt eh aussteigen ... ma! Jetzt bleibt er ned amal stehen weil er ... na jetzt hod ers checkt. Ma i wünsch Ihnen des beste ... hoffentlich passiert Ihna nix ...“

Granitpilgern.

Links. Rechts. Links. Rechts. Einatmen. Grillenzirpen. Ausatmen. Heuschrecken springen. Tausende. Ich bleibe stehen. Keine Heuschrecken. Ich mache einen Schritt. Hunderte. Güterweg. Keine Autos. Sonnenschein. Das Gewand trocknet. Goldene Strohfelder. Tiefgrüne Kukuruzfelder. Ein alter kleiner Bauernhof. Eine alte Schafsbäuerin.

„Grias di!“
„Grias di!“
„Derf i a Büdl von deine Schof mochn?“
„Frali! Hom eh nur gwoat auf di!“
„Ha! Hob mas eh docht!“
„Do schauts hin! Dort kimmts Vogal!
„Danke goi und schen Tog nu!“
„Pfiat di!“

Gedanken.

Gedanken kommen. Gedanken gehen. Ziehen vorbei. Einfangen. Denken. Reflektieren. Loslassen. Über Herausforderungen. Über die Firma. Über Freunde. Über Familie. Über die Liebe. Wolkenbruch. Gewaltig. Nass. Schweiß und Regen. Vermischen sich. Tropfen strömen. Über die Beine. In die schweren Wanderschuhe. Der Weg ist steil. Rutschig. Einatmen. Konzentration. Ausatmen. Gedankenlos.

Granitpilgern Baeume

Mühltalhof.

Ankommen. Eintauchen. In die Mühl. Schwimmen im Kalt. Traumhaftes Essen. Genießen. Sein. Die Seele baumeln lassen. Gedanken kommen. Gedanken gehen. Dabei auf die Mühl schauen. Sauna. Entspannen. Schauen. Schwimmen. Und wieder von vorne. Tun was man will. Ein Gespräch mit Philip. Über seine aktuellen Pläne. Seine Boy Band. Sein neues Projekt.

Büro Neufelden.

Kurzbesuch im Büro. Neufelden. Ich mag das Büro. Ich mag alle Büros. Jedes anders und doch so gleich.

„Hö, wos tuast denn du do?“
„Jo waundan - Granitpilgern.“
„Wos waundan? Den gaunzn Weg oda wos???“
„Jo, die 90km hoid.“
„Na ... ned wirkli. I würd sterbn! Ois mit die Fias! Do geht‘s jo aufi und owi ... na ... für wos gibt‘s denn Autos ...“
— Dialog mit Katl aus Neufelden.

Granitpilgern Büro Neufelden 2
Granitpilgern Büro Neufelden 1

Am Weg.

„Grias di!“
„Grias di!“
„Gehst leicht den Pilgerweg?“
„Ja, genau.“
„Wo kimmst her - wo gehst hi?“
„Neufelden - Haslach“
„Host eh no guad Meta z‘mocha“
„Jo eh, wos dad i denn sunst ...“
— Dialog mit einem 90-Jährigen jungen Mann.

Granitpilgern Am Weg

1 Seidl. 2 Zirbal. 3 Raffaello. 1 Traum.

Dritter Tag, 10:33 Uhr. Ohne Worte.

„Geht‘s eh?“
„Bitte?“
„Geht‘s eh?!“
„Asso. Jo sicha! Schau i leicht scho so fertig aus?“
„Hob ma docht i frog anfoch ...“
— Dialog mit einem jungen Autofahrer. An seinem Schlüsselbund hängt ein Rot-Kreuz-Anhänger.

Vieböck Leinen — Helfenberg.

Vieböck ist schon lange Kunde bei uns. Und doch ganz neu. Neu? Weil der Junior langsam in das Unternehmen rein wächst. Ich bin bekennender Vieböck-Fan. Christoph ist super sympathisch. Die Produkte ehrlich. Hochwertig. Nachhaltig produziert. Händische Qualitätskontrollen. Hochwertiger Leinen aus Frankreich, Belgien und Holland. Versponnen in Italien. Die Produktion sehr spannend. Die jüngste Maschine aus 1989. Tun, was Veränderung ist. Neue Wege gehen. Abseits bereits befahrener. Good Luck, Christoph & Team.

Granitpilgern Vieböck

Rückenschmerzen.

Mein altes Leiden. Rückenschmerzen. Zu viel Gewicht. Zu lange auf den Schultern. Ich entschließe mich, die zweite Hälfte nur mit dem Nötigsten zu gehen. Das Gemeindeamt Helfenberg passt in der Zwischenzeit auf meinen Rucksack auf.

„Derf i mein Rucksock bei eich lossn?“
„Wos, wieso?“
„Zu schwer. Rückenschmerzen. Altes Leiden.“
„Hö. Schaut goa ned schwer aus!“
„Heb a moi! Hod hoibwegs a Gwicht!
„Boa. Siagt ma earm goa ned au!“
„ I hoi earm am Donnastog wenn des passt!“
„Passt guad, bis daun!“

Die zweite Hälfte ist zwar ohne Rucksack, dafür mit Blasen an den Fußsohlen. „I würd sterbn! Ois mit de Fias!“ — sagte Katl. Daran erinnere ich mich mehrmals. Die letzten 45km. Die Strecke ist wunderbar. Gedankenlosigkeit setzt ein. Ich höre mich atmen. Einen Fuß vor den anderen. Leicht humpelnd. Bis Sankt Martin wieder zu sehen ist.

Granitpilgern Binkerl

4 Tage. 10 Gemeinden. 90 Kilometer. 1000 Gedanken. 1 Erkenntnis.

Ich habe in 4 Tagen nichts verpasst. Nichts auf Instagram. Nichts auf Facebook. Nichts auf Slack. Nichts auf ORF. Keine wichtigen Anrufe. Nichts schlimmes ist passiert. Die Welt dreht sich. Alles ist genau so gut/schlecht wie 4 Tage zuvor. Eines hätte ich allerdings verpasst, hätte ich das iPhone nicht im Flugmodus am Nachkästchen liegen gelassen: Eine Reise zu mir selbst.

Danke.