Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

Better, hotter, quirkier. Fredmansky at Forward Festival 2017.

Queues up to the entrance. Queues up to the toilet. Queues up to the bar. Queues up to the cloakroom. But the waiting paid off. The Forward Festival in Vienna spat us out full and satisfied after two intense days full of interesting speakers, pearls of wisdom, partying and cucumber spritzers. We present the highlights and souvenirs from our Vienna trip today, here and now in random order.

Fredmansky Forward Festival 17 Gif

#1 Side-projects boost recognition.

People know you before you know them.

At the moment, yeah, a little like every festival’s tagline: do more shit. More of your own projects that are fun. You aren’t paid any money for these (unless you’re called Mr Bingo), but it can pay off. (The boys from Wild woke up in Jessica Walsh’s apartment after one award show.) Even at Forward, there was hardly a speaker who took to the stage without having side-projects. A selection of the best unpaid projects:

#2 The Vague. Meaning is connected to wonder, not knowledge.

Apart from the fact that Felix Richter (Executive Creative Director at Droga 5 and Professional Young Gun 2012) is an inspiration in himself purely due to his humble appearance compared with his CV, he is one of few who has shown that funny stuff is not the only way to success. His ad spots have depth and almost a certain tragedy, but even so, the Under Armour commercial with Michael Phelps has about 12 million hits, while those for Hennessy Cognac have racked up several hundred thousand.

More: Gisele Bündchen for Under Amour ·  Hennessy Cognac “The Picards”

#3 Let them fail and learn. (Eike König)

You’ve got to like Eike König. Not just Eike König the German graphic designer. But Eike König the person, too. His agency (Hort) is likely to keep having as many employees as needed to get his fill with two family pizzas. And under his rules, it’s not about the customer once. All right, agencies are not sheltered workshops. But more is often accomplished with respect than with stress and intimidation.

926E064540

#4 Joy equals motivation. Motivation equals energy. Energy equals productivity. Productivity equals money. And that’s what everyone is looking for.

If you manage to have everyone taking pleasure in their work in a studio or an agency, theoretically more money would show up at the end even though less work may have been done. Worth a try?

#5 How can we talk about visuals that don’t yet exist?

If you want to explain a film’s idea or an image’s drama to the customer, then you shouldn’t look for any pictures that are only half as good as the ones in your own mind. (Mood images), but instead show a film scene that shows the right emotion. One example: Felix Richter of Droga 5 presented a dark video to Under Armour of a guy, bound on the floor, crawling naked over shards of glass. Cyberbullying must come very close to the feeling. The later ad saw Gisele Bündchen venting her anger on a punching bag while online posts from haters were projected all around on the walls.

1F0Dc86B8D

#6 We work for your customers, so it may be that we take their side from time to time.

Those who need to relish the bait have long been known. Occasionally, it might be worth reminding customers of that. Just as Edenspiekermann like to do.

#7 Sarah Illenberger. The surprise of the day.

She showed that illustration is more than just drawing something with a pen. Sarah has managed to bring her creations to life and sell them in a shop.

#8 Many bosses instead of one.

At Freitag, there are no personal hierarchies. Everyone’s their own boss. That means everyone has more responsibility. More responsibility means everyone cares more about how things turn out in the end. Brave approach; works at Freitag.

#9 Life is a bitch and so are pitches

Pfadfinderei dubbed pitches “the worst start to a working relationship”. Respect and trust are key points for successful cooperation. There is no worse way to start than with pitches.

#10 Dare to be bold

When the Swedish agency with its own rock band and shower beer says “brand yourself!” or “dare to be bold!”, you really do buy it. Snask are crazy. Crazy funny, crazy cool, crazy loud and crazy good at everything they do.

428106F96B

Snask at its best. An in-house production for the makers of a clingfilm with an innovative cutter.

Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300

Besser, schöner, schräger. Fredmansky beim Forward Festival 2017.

Schlangen vorm Eingang. Schlangen vorm Klo. Schlangen vor der Bar. Schlangen vor der Garderobe. Aber das Warten hat sich gelohnt. Das Forward Festival in Wien hat uns nach zwei intensiven Tagen voll interessanter Speaker, Weisheiten, Party und Gurkenspritzer satt und zufrieden wieder ausgespuckt. Die Highlights und Souvenirs von unserem Wien-Trip gibt’s heute, hier und jetzt in zufälliger Reihenfolge.

Fredmansky Forward Festival 17 Gif

#1 Sideprojects schaffen Bekanntheit.

Die Leute kennen dich, bevor du sie kennst.

Momentan ja das ja so ein bisschen die Tagline jedes Festivals: Do more shit. Mehr eigene Projekte, die Spaß machen. Für die bekommt man zwar kein Geld (außer man heißt Mr. Bingo), aber es kann sich bezahlt machen. (Die Jungs von Wild sind nach einer Award-Show im Appartement von Jessica Walsh aufgewacht.) Selbst beim Forward stand kaum ein Speaker ohne Sideprojects auf der Bühne. Ein Auszug der besten unbezahlten Projekte:

#2 The Vague. Meaning is connected to wonder, not knowledge.

Mal abgesehen davon, dass Felix Richter, Executive Creative Director bei Droga 5 und Professional Young Gun 2012 schon allein wegen seines bescheidenen Auftretens im Vergleich zu seinem Lebenslauf eine Inspiration für sich ist – er hat als einer der wenigen gezeigt, dass lustiger Scheiß nicht der einzige Weg zum Erfolg ist. Seine Spots haben Tiefgang und nahezu eine gewisse Tragik, dennoch hat der Under Armour Spot mit Michael Phelps über 12 Millionen Klicks und jener für Hennessy Cognac mehrere Hunderttausend.

#3 Let them fail and learn. (Eike König)

Eike König muss man mögen. Nicht nur Eike König, den Grafikdesigner. Besonders auch Eike König, den Menschen. Seine Agentur (Hort) soll immer noch so viele Mitarbeiter haben, wie er mit zwei Familienpizzen gerade noch satt bekommt. Und in seinen Regeln geht’s kein einziges Mal um den Kunden. Schon klar, Agenturen sind keine geschützten Werkstätten. Aber mit Respekt ist oft mehr erreicht als mit Stress und Einschüchterung.

926E064540

#4 Freude ist gleich Motivation. Motivation ist gleich Energie. Energie ist gleich Produktivität. Produktivität ist gleich Geld. Und das ist das, was alle wollen.

Wenn man es schafft, dass jeder in einem Studio oder in einer Agentur Freude an seiner Arbeit hat, dann würde theoretisch am Schluss mehr Geld rausschauen und das obwohl evtl. weniger gearbeitet worden ist. Ist einen Versuch wert, oder?

#5 How can we talk about visuals that don’t yet exist?

Wenn man dem Kunden die Idee eines Films oder die Dramatik eines Bildes erklären will, dann sollte man keine Bilder suchen, die nur halb so gut sind, wie das, das man selbst im Kopf hat. (Mood-Bilder), sondern lieber eine Filmszene zeigen, die die richtige Emotion zeigt. Ein Beispiel: Felix Richter von Droga 5 präsentierte Under Armour ein düsteres Video von einem gefesselten Typen am Boden, der nackt über Glassplitter kroch. Cybermobbing muss dem Gefühl sehr nahe kommen. Im späteren Spot sah man Gisele Bündchen ihre Wut in einen Sandsack entladen, während Postings von Hatern auf die Wand rundherum projiziert wurden.

1F0Dc86B8D

#6 Wir arbeiten für deine Kunden, es kann also sein, das wir von Zeit zu Zeit deren Seite einnehmen.

Wem der Köder schmecken muss, ist längst bekannt. Ab und zu sollte man Kunden eventuell daran erinnern. So wie Eden Spiekermann das gerne tut.

#7 Sarah Illenberger. Die Überraschung des Tages.

Sie hat gezeigt, dass Illustration mehr ist, als mit dem Stift etwas zu zeichnen. Sie hat es geschafft, ihre Illus zum Leben zu erwecken und in einem Shop zu verkaufen.

#8 Viele Chefs statt einem.

Bei Freitag (die Marke, nicht der Tag) gibt es keine persönlichen Hierarchien. Jeder ist sein eigener Chef. Das heißt, jeder hat mehr Verantwortung. Mehr Verantwortung bedeutet, dass sich jeder mehr um darum schert, was am Ende rauskommt. Mutiger Ansatz, bei Freitag funktioniert’s.

#9 Life is a bitch and so are Pitches

Die Pfadfinderei bezeichnete Pitches als “schlechtesten Start in eine Working Relationship”. Die Wertschätzung und das Vertrauen sind Key Points für eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit. Schlechter als mit Pitches kann man also nicht beginnen.

#10 Dare to be bold

Wenn die schwedische Agentur mit eigener Rockband und Shower Beer sagt: „Brand yourself!“ oder „Dare to be bold!“ dann kauft man das denen wirklich ab. Snask sind irre. Irre lustig, irre cool, irre laut und irre gut in allem, was sie tun.

428106F96B

Snask at its best. Eine Eigenproduktion für den Hersteller einer Frischhaltefolie mit innovativem Abschneider.