Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

TypoBerlinz – that was FRTG #1

30 tickets, two speakers and this small, inviting living room. The private concert of type rock stars Marianna Paszkowska and Hendrik Weber was as cosy as you can get, but offered as much valuable content as a big typography conference. We jumped for joy to have had you all here.

1803 Frtg Marianna Talk
Marianna Paszkowska, typography engineer at Monotype, on variable fonts.

Talk #1: Variable fonts

Both designers and front-end developers were deliriously happy when they heard that Open Type Specification 1.8 was going to be implemented in September 2016. The mundane number hid the revolutionary prospect of fonts that dynamically adjust to their environmental conditions. Good – the cat was out of the bag. But where has that cat gotten to?

Currently, typography engineers are occupied with designing and programming variable fonts that make it possible to control clean typesetting on the internet. The first ones are already running on Safari and Chrome. Does Internet Explorer still exist? No matter – we’re going off script. 

Marianna Paszkowska, a typography engineer at Monotype, showed us how to build variable fonts, how to use them in practice, and who is already experimenting with them. If you missed Marianna at FRTG, you can meet her at TYPO Berlin in May. She is one of the speakers there.

Talk #2: Typography and branding

Typography is branding. Although everyone knows that, Hendrik Weber, Type Director at Monotype, enthusiastically demonstrated the communication power of typography based on examples from Canyon, Bentley, Porsche and J!NS.

Typography’s mission is to make brand personalities perceptible. This doesn’t mean the font itself gets to bathe in the spotlight. In a press release from Porsche about their new corporate design, one of the headlines read: “Did you notice the new font?”. Typical Hendrik. When the creative head of an international font development team develops glyphs further, he circles around the fact instead of loudly patting himself on the back. Circles on tiptoes. It takes this kind of sensitivity to put the brand in focus. Not the font.

But how do you know what the brand personality is? Before he starts designing fonts, Hendrik wants to understand the product, the brand, and the brand’s customers. For example, when Hendrik was working on a typography re-design for Porsche, he was picked up from the airport in a sports car and asked the driver to put the car through its paces for him. He felt like throwing up when he got out, but that was OK. After the ride, he knew that Porsche was more than just an attractive car. The brand has petrol in its blood and technology in its head. And the designer knew what the font had to look like. It needed power, weight, and geometry. The rest is design history.

1803 Frtg Hendrik Gestikulieren
Hendrik Weber, Type Director at Monotype, on typography and branding.

Pestle, Billy Dilly and the device.

What would main talks be without the small, intimate conversations in between? We thoroughly enjoyed the many nice discussions, re-connecting and meeting new people, the informal wuzzle dates and speed text coaching. We all learned something in the process: How to make Billy Dilly. Or better yet: How not to make it. Despite the lovely instructions of our front-end developer – who has a weakness for Comic Sans – none of us got further than cucumber salad with vodka. Maybe we were simply all thumbs with the device of the evening: A pestle. 

In our defence, we are used to bigger devices. THE device. Of course that made an appearance at FRTG. We tested appealing fonts and even more appealing content on containers and people. If you want to try too, you can borrow the device in our fan shop. Maybe we’ll lend the pestle soon, too. We’ll see.

1803 Frtg Katl Verene Tatoo
Nobody was put at a disadvantage. At least, nobody that already wasn’t at one.

And by the way, we were also pleased at the many compliments we received for the snacks. Instead of basking in the glow, we passed the praise on to where it was due: Mühltalhof. The fresh bread, bacon, and spreads were a preview of Fernruf 7, the latest venture of the Rachinger family.

Well, that’s all for now.  To be continued at the next #FRTG.

Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

TypoBerlinz – das war der FRTG #1

30 Tickets, zwei Speaker und nur dieses eine kleine, feine Wohnzimmer. Das Privatkonzert der Typo-Rockstars Marianna Paszkowska und Hendrik Weber war maximal lauschig, aber inhaltlich so wertvoll wie eine große Typo-Konferenz. Es war uns ein Luftsprung, euch alle hier gehabt zu haben.

1803 Frtg Marianna Talk
Marianna Paszkowska, Type Engineer bei Monotype, über Variable Fonts.

Talk #1: Variable Fonts

Designer sowie Frontend-Developer waren ganz schön aus dem Häuschen, als im September 2016 die Einführung der neuen Open-Type-Spezifikation 1.8 angekündigt wurde. Hinter der nüchternen Zahl steckt das revolutionäre Versprechen, dass sich Schriften dynamisch ihren Umgebungsbedingungen anpassen. Gut, damit war die Katze erstmal aus dem Sack. Aber wo steckt jetzt die Katze?

Aktuell stecken Typo-Ingenieure mitten in der Gestaltung und Programmierung von variablen Schriften, welche einen sauberen Satz nun auch im Netz steuerbar machen. Die ersten laufen schon auf Safari und Chrome. Gibt’s eigentlich diesen Internet Explorer noch? Egal, wir schweifen ab. 

Wie man Variable Fonts baut, was sich in der Praxis damit anstellen lässt und wer bereits damit experimentiert, das zeigte uns Marianna Paszkowska, Type Engineer bei Monotype. Wer sie beim FRTG verpasst hat, kann Marianna bei der TYPO Berlin im Mai treffen. Dort ist sie als Speakerin dabei.

Talk #2: Typo und Branding

Typografie ist Branding. Obwohl wir das natürlich alle wissen, hat uns Hendrik Weber, Type Director bei Monotype, die Kommunikationskraft von Typografie anhand von Canyon, Bentley, Porsche und J!NS flammend vor Augen geführt.

Die Aufgabe der Typografie ist es, Markenpersönlichkeit spürbar zu machen. Das bedeutet nicht, sich als Schrift selbst in den Mittelpunkt zu rücken. In einer Presse-Aussendung von Porsche zum neuen Corporate Design hieß es in einer Überschrift: "Haben Sie die neue Schrift bemerkt?". Das ist typisch Hendrik. Wenn der kreative Leiter eines internationalen Schriftenentwicklungsteams Glyphen weiterentwickelt, dann schlägt er selten Purzelbäume, eher macht er Trippelschritte. Auf Zehenspitzen. Diese Feinfühligkeit braucht es, damit die Marke im Vordergrund steht. Nicht die Schrift.

Aber wie weiß man, was die Markenpersönlichkeit ist? Bevor er sich an das Schriftdesign setzt, will er zuerst das Produkt, die Marke und die Kunden der Marke verstehen. So ließ sich Hendrik Weber, als er am Typo-Redesign für Porsche arbeitete, in einem Sportwagen vom Flughafen abholen und sich zeigen, was in diesem Auto steckt. Als er ausstieg, war ihm speiübel, aber das war ihm nur recht. Er verstand, dass Porsche nicht nur ein schönes Auto ist. Die Marke hat Benzin im Blut und Technik im Schädel. Das wusste Designer, wie er Schrift aussehen muss. Sie brauchte Kraft, Gewicht und Geometrie. Der Rest ist Designgeschichte.

1803 Frtg Hendrik Gestikulieren
Hendrik Weber, Type Director bei Monotype, über Typografie und Branding.

Stößel, Billy Dilly und das Gerät.

Was wären die großen Talks ohne die kleinen intime Gespräche dazwischen? Wir haben die vielen netten Unterredungen, die Wiedersehens und Kennenlernens, die losen Wuzzel-Dates und Speed-Text-Nachhilfen sehr genossen. Wir alle haben dabei etwas gelernt: Wie man Billy Dilly macht. Oder besser: Wie man ihn nicht macht. Trotz liebevoller Anleitung unseres Front-End-Developers mit einer Schwäche für Comic Sans schafften wir alle gerade mal einen Gurkensalat mit Vodka. Vielleicht konnten wir einfach nicht mit dem Gerät des Abends umgehen: dem Stößel. 

Zu unserer Verteidigung: Wir sind größere Geräte gewohnt. DAS Gerät. Das hatte am FRTG freilich auch seinen Auftritt. Schöne Schriften und noch schönere Inhalte wurde an Containern und Menschen getestet. Wer auch mal will, das Gerät gibt's im Fan-Shop zum Ausborgen. Vielleicht verleihen wir auch bald die Stößel. Mal sehen.

1803 Frtg Katl Verene Tatoo
Zu Schaden kam niemand. Zumindest nichts, was nicht vorher schon einen Schaden hatte.

Übrigens haben wir uns über die zahlreichen Komplimente zur Jause gefreut. Hätten wir uns gern behalten, aber das Lob gebührt dem Mühltalhof. Das frische Brot, der Speck und die Aufstriche waren ein Vorgeschmack auf Fernruf 7, dem neuesten Streich der Familie Rachinger.

Jetzt ist aber Schluss mit lustig. 
Weiter geht's beim nächsten #FRTG.