Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 73, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

Typo Berlin gets you going.

Wanderlust. The theme of the Typo Berlin 2017 International Design Conference. What gets people to go away, to leave the familiar behind them for the unknown? Is it dreams, pictures or concrete ideas in their heads? Is it a longing for a better condition? People embark on the trip in the hope that these pictures will prove to be true. Typo Berlin didn’t ask its guests “where are you going?” Instead, the questions were “what do you want to experience?”, “What is your goal?”

New centre of attraction: brand talks.

Agencies and clients discussed the approaches for re-branding projects and the related challenges. So I made my way to Berlin, bringing along the question “what will I experience?” Some thoughts on the event and my personal recommendations follow.

Define first. Design second.

Michael Johnson opened the brand talks with a message that was crystal clear: Define first. Design second. This message not only ran through his presentation, but was also affirmed by all the other brand talks. A thorough look-over – an investigation, even – of the company/product is imperative.

News Typo17 Berlin 1 Define First
Michael Johnson’s 5.5 branding steps

Beyond entertainment. Beyond lifestyle.

When an Italian agency dishes out a new design to a traditional Italian football club, everything goes different from usual. It’s not without reason that the rebrand caused a furore in the design scene. Before starting with design here, it was a case of focussing on the existing brand, assertively coming to the conclusion:

we don’t need an identity. We are an identity.

Paolo Insinga, Creative Director / Interbrand Italy
News Typo17 Berlin 2 Juventus Event
The brand lives. From events to tattoos and necklaces. For Juve fans, there’s everything.

What Interbrand has developed here is unique. Strong. Unmistakeable. Establishing identity. Making connections. A brand experience par excellence. And in terms of the new logo, I can only quote German designer Kurt Weidemann: “a logo is a good logo if you can draw it in the sand with your toe!”

Designers out there: don’t design just for the design’s sake.

Do you have a duty as a designer? A mission? Should you realise yourself and your style? The talk by Justus Oehler (Pentagram) is an emotional appeal to every designer to treat the (further) development of brands with great care. It’s not all about reinventing the wheel, but retaining strong existing elements and carefully refining the brand. Pentagram has demonstrated that very impressively with the recent re-design of Mastercard.

Sometimes looking back is the best way forward.

Justus Oehler
News Typo17 Berlin 3 Mastercard
Pentagram focused intensely on history during the Mastercard rebranding.

Audi: The interface becomes the brand.

When Strichpunkt (working with KMS Team on Audi’s behalf) has thought 10 years into the future without compromise, it isn’t an offline designer presenting the new corporate design at this year’s Typo, but Strichpunkt’s CTO. In 10 years’ time, people probably won’t be buying car brands any more. Cars will be rented or shared. Customer touchpoints and brand experiences beyond the point of sale are becoming increasingly important for manufacturers. Audi is adjusting to this major customer/brand shift as early as possible, and at the end of 2016 presented a corporate design that was completely digital in its conception. As the motto goes: the interface becomes the brand.

Key lessons

  • Think simple – away with complexity. Simplicity is king.
  • Think further – an icon set with over 500 icons was developed. Including for devices that aren’t yet around today.
  • Think agile - corporate design is not a static process, but a description of conditions.
  • Think collaborative – agencies must adjust themselves to cooperating with other agencies to achieve better outcomes.
  • Think open source – everything developed in the course of project was published on Gitlab. That alone brought enormous attention to the project.

Škoda: from sensible brand to love brand.

Ask customers. Listen. Feel like a doctor listening to the heartbeat with a stethoscope and releasing the brand’s essence. That’s how Mr Büscher, the Head of Marketing and Product, describes the way the Škoda brand has been completely taken apart and redefined. A courageous step that has led to an impressive brand world and visual identity. Alas, the logo had to stay the way it is. ;-)

Get out of your comfort zone. Culturally.

Some topics at Typo are nothing new. As with this insight: it’s becoming increasingly important for companies to communicate honestly. Alongside good communication, this above all demands that they create strong and up-to-date products. In addition, the selection of a suitable creative partner is growing in importance. It’s no longer possible to use pitches to achieve communication fine-tuned to the product. Placing the focus on the selection process to find a suitable partner who can be trusted and, especially, is capable of doing the project, is the key to success. Find a suitable “inside outsider”. Someone that might go out onto the street and get involved with the customers. Who finds out what matters to the customers. What they find good and less-than-good about the products. Finding out what the brand amounts to. That is our duty. Every day. A darn serious task. But a fun one.

Away from Typo, but still in Berlin.

In conclusion, I’d like to draw your attention to a sentence by Christian Boros in the latest edition of Vogue, which really nicely gets to the heart of the topic of wanderlust: “[...] There are essentially two sorts of people: repeat visitors to Sylt” – the German North Sea island popular for staycations – “and the inquisitive travellers to Asia, the nomads. You have to decide whether you want security in your life or to take a leap into the unknown. There are people who fear new things, whereas those things draw me in the way the light attracts mosquitoes. I love the freefall.” In that spirit, I’d like to mention the Boros Collection for curious ones among the audience. Rating: highly recommended.

News Typo17 Berlin 4 Boros Bunker
News Typo17 Berlin 5 Boros Bunker Inside

Linz/Urfahr
Hauptstraße 58, 4040 Linz
+43 50 353-300
Neufelden
Marktplatz 1, 4120 Neufelden
+43 50 353-300
Gleisdorf
Franz Bloder Gasse 4, 8200 Gleisdorf
+43 50 353-300
Salzburg
Linzer Gasse 3, 5020 Salzburg
+43 50 353-300

Typo Berlin macht Lust aufzubrechen.

Wanderlust. Das Thema der Typo Berlin 2017. Was bewegt die Menschen wegzugehen, das Gewohnte für das Unbekannte hinter sich zu lassen? Sind es Träume, Bilder oder konkrete Vorstellungen im Kopf? Ist es die Sehnsucht nach einem besseren Zustand? Menschen begeben sich auf die Reise, in der Hoffnung, dass sich diese Bilder bestätigen. Die Typo Berlin fragte die Besucher nicht: „Wo willst du hin?“, sondern: „Was willst du erleben?“, „Was ist dein Ziel?“.

Neuer Anziehungspunkt: Brand Talks.

Agenturen und Auftraggeber erzählten über die Herangehensweisen an Re-Branding Projekte und den damit verbundenen Herausforderungen. Also machte ich mich auf nach Berlin mit der Frage im Gepäck: "Was werde ich erleben?". Nachfolgend ein paar Gedanken zum Event und meine persönlichen Empfehlungen.

Define first. Design second.

Michael Johnson eröffnete die Brand Talks mit einer ganz klaren Ansage: Define first. Design second. Diese Aussage zog sich nicht nur durch seine Präsentation, sondern wurde zudem noch von allen weiteren Brand Talks bestätigt. Eine intensive, ja sogar investigative Auseinandersetzung mit dem Unternehmen/dem Produkt ist unerlässlich.

News Typo17 Berlin 1 Define First
Michael Johnsons 5,5 Schritte zum Branding

Beyond Entertainment. Beyond lifestyle.

Wenn eine italienische Agentur einem italienischen Traditions-Fußballclub ein neues Design verpasst, dann wir das alles andere als gewöhnlich. Nicht umsonst hat das Rebranding in der Designszene für Furore gesorgt. Bevor es auch hier ans Design ging, hat man sich mit der bestehenden Marke beschäftigt und ist selbstbewusst zum Ergebnis gekommen:

We don't need an identity. We are an identity.

Paolo Insinga, Creative Director / Interbrand Italy
News Typo17 Berlin 2 Juventus Event
Die Marke lebt. Von Events, über Tattoos bis hin zu Halsketten. Für die Juve-Fans gibt's alles.

Das, was Interbrand hier entwickelt hat, ist einzigartig. Stark. Unverwechselbar. Identitätsstiftend. Verbindend. Ein Markenerlebnis par excellence. Und was das neue Logo betrifft kann ich hier nur Kurt Wiedemann zitieren: "…ein Zeichen ist gut, wenn man es mit dem großen Zeh in den Sand kratzen kann!"

Designers out there: Designt nicht des Designs wegen.

Hat man als Designer eine Pflicht? Einen Auftrag? Soll man sich und seinen Stil verwirklichen? Der Talk von Justus Oehler (Pentagram) ist ein emotionaler Aufruf an jeden Designer, sorgfältig mit den (Weiter-)Entwicklungen von Marken umzugehen. Es geht nicht darum, immer das Rad neu zu erfinden sondern bestehende, starke Elemente zu übernehmen und die Marke sorgfältig weiterzuentwickeln. Pentagram hat das sehr eindrucksvoll am kürzlichen Re-Design von Mastercard bewiesen.

Sometimes looking back is the best way forward.

Justus Oehler
News Typo17 Berlin 3 Mastercard
Beim Mastercard Rebranding hat sich Pentagram sehr intensiv mit der Historie beschäftigt.

Audi: The interface becomes the brand.

Wenn Strichpunkt in Kooperation mit KMS Team in Auftrag von Audi kompromisslos 10 Jahre in die Zukunft denkt, dann präsentiert das neue Corporate Design auf der diesjährigen Typo nicht ein Offline-Designer sondern der CTO von Strichpunkt. In 10 Jahren werden wohl keine Automarken mehr gekauft. Autos werden gemietet oder geteilt. Für die Hersteller werden Kunden-Touchpoints und Markenerlebnisse abseits des Kaufens immer wichtiger. Auf diese gravierende Kunden/Marken-Veränderung stellt man sich bei Audi möglichst früh ein und präsentierte Ende 2016 ein komplett digital gedachtes Corporate Design. Nach dem Motto: The interface becomes the brand.

Key Learnings

  • Think Simple – weg mit der Komplexität. Einfachheit siegt.
  • Think Further – es wurde ein Icon-Set mit über 500 Icons entwickelt. Für Geräte, die es heute noch nicht mal gibt.
  • Think Agile – Corporate Design ist kein statischer Prozess, sondern eine Zustandsbeschreibung
  • Think Collaborative – Agenturen müssen sich darauf einstellen, mit anderen Agenturen zu kooperieren um noch bessere Ergebnisse zu erreichen.
  • Think Open Source – Alles, was im Rahmen des Projekts entwickelt wurde, wurde auf Gitlab veröffentlicht. Alleine dadurch hat das Projekt enorme Aufmerksamkeit erhalten.

Škoda: Von der Vernunftmarke zum Love-Brand

Kunden befragen. Zuhören. Wie ein Arzt mit einem Stethoskop aufs Herz fühlen und den Markenkern freilegen. So erzählt Herr Büscher, Head of Marketing und Product, wie die Marke Škoda komplett auseinandergenommen und neu definiert wurde. Ein mutiger Schritt, der zu einer eindrucksvollen Markenwelt und visuellen Identität geführt hat. Leider musste das Logo bleiben wie es ist. ;-)

Get out of your comfort zone. Culturally.

Manche Themen auf der Typo sind nichts Neues. So wie diese Erkenntnis: Für Unternehmen wird es immer wichtiger ehrlich zu kommunizieren. Das verlangt neben einer guten Kommunikation aber vor allem eines: gute und zeitgemäße Produkte zu produzieren. Zudem wird die Auswahl eines passenden Kreativpartners immer wichtiger. Eine auf das Produkt abgestimmte Kommunikation ist nicht mehr über Pitches zu erreichen. Den Fokus auf den Auswahlprozess zu legen um einen geeigneten Partner zu finden, dem man vertraut und vor allem das Projekt zutraut ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg. Einen passenden "internen Externen" finden. Einer, der mal auf die Straße geht und sich auf die Kunden einlässt. Rausfindet, was die Kunden beschäftigt. Was sie an den Produkten gut und weniger gut finden. Rausfinden, was die Marke ausmacht. Das ist unsere Aufgabe. Jeden Tag. Eine verdammt schwere Aufgabe. Aber eine spannende.

Abseits der Typo, aber noch immer Berlin.

Abschließend möchte ich noch auf einen Satz von Christian Boros in der aktuellen Ausgabe der Vogue hinweisen, der das Thema Wanderlust ganz gut auf den Punkt bringt: "[...] Es gibt ja grundsätzlich zwei Typen: wiederkehrende Sylturlauber und die suchenden Asienreisenden, die Nomaden. Man muss sich entscheiden, ob man Sicherheit im Leben will oder in schwarze Löcher springt. Es gibt Menschen, die Angst vor Neuem haben, mich zieht es eher an wie Mücken das Licht. Ich liebe den freien Fall." In diesem Sinne möchte ich den Neugierigen unter den Lesern die Sammlung Boros mit auf den Weg geben. Prädikat: sehr empfehlenswert.

News Typo17 Berlin 4 Boros Bunker
News Typo17 Berlin 5 Boros Bunker Inside